our growing movement to transform the spa industry

1st Annual Green Spa Network Awards

The Auberge Team Accepting the Corporate Sustainability Leadership Award



Winners Range from Architects to Visionaries; from Spas to Product Companies

Sunriver, Oregon  (October 3, 2012] – The Green Spa Network’s (GSN) First Annual Sustainability Awards were announced last night at the non-profit organization’s sixth annual congress, held at Sunriver Resort in Oregon.  Auberge Resorts, Travaasa Resort and Crystal Mountain were among the spa winners, as well as Michael Stusser of Osmosis Spa and Stacy Malkin of Campaign for Safe Cosmetics in the individual categories.

A total of eleven different winners were chosen from categories including green building, eco healthy culinary program, organic face & body products, sustainable resort & day spas and sustainability leadership from individuals. 

"These eleven different winners have set the standard for leadership and innovation in spa sustainability," said Deb Berlin, Executive Director of the Green Spa Network. "These awards are a testament to how a single person or organization can deliver wellness beyond the individual to the community and ultimately the planet.”

Recognized as the premier sustainability awards in the spa industry and presented by GSN President Roberto Arjona of Rancho La Puerta , this year’s winners are:

-          Green Product Company of the Year - Intelligent Nutrients

-          Leadership in Safe Personal Care - Stacy Malkan, Campaign for Safe Cosmetics

-          Eco-Healthy Culinary Leadership - Rancho La Puerta

-          Paul Moran Green Building AwardBardessono

-          Excellence in Sustainable Programs (Waste Management) -

            Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

-          Sustainable Day Spa of the Year - Natural Body Spa & Shop

-          Holistic Wellness Center of the YearTravaasa Austin

-          Sustainable Resort Spa of the Year - Crystal Mountain Resort

-          Corporate Sustainability Leadership – Auberge Resorts

-          Lifetime Sustainability Leadership – Robert Zimmer

-          Green Spa Network Visionary Leadership – Michael Stusser


Chris MacInnes, Crystal Mountain’s COO said, “Crystal Mountain and the Crystal Spa are proud to lead by example, and show how we can all live a rich, meaningful life while being a benefit to the world around us.”

GSN elected a panel of industry experts to vote, including Julie Keller, Editor in Chief of American Spa Magazine, Mary Bemis, co-founder of Organic Spa Magazine and Sallie Fraenkel, Vice President of SpaFinders. 

“GSN has earned the authority and stature to truly honor the pioneers of the Green movement. It's a win win for GSN and for all of those nominated,” said Mary Bemis.

Details of the projects and initiatives that were awarded are available at www.greenspanetwork.org/news


Launched by the Green Spa Network to underscore the importance of sustainability leaders in transforming an industry, the Green Spa Network Sustainability Awards celebrate groundbreaking activities, comprehensive measures, unique contributions, and overall leadership in environmental management, green techniques or sustainability.

ABOUT THE GREEN SPA NETWORK                                                                                                                         

GSN is a community of like-minded spas and resource partners comprised of over nearly 100 influential spa locations with an estimated purchasing power of $30+ million per year.  The association provides its members with a Green Toolkit to guide them in evaluating their sustainability commitment, and educating them on how to implement greening measures. For more information, visit www.greenspanetwork.org.